The Overdue One: On Adventures.

by Rachael on April 2, 2012 · 63 comments

FacebookPinterestLinkedInEmailShare/Bookmark


So, I suppose this is somewhat overdue. But for those of you not following me on Twitter or Facebook

I’m moving to San Francisco.

In two and a half weeks. With nothing but my bed, my clothes, and my cat.

(Sidebar: flying across the country with Girl Cat should be interesting.)

I’m completely terrified, and twice as excited. I’ve wanted a change of scenery for a while, and I was looking at NYC and Chicago as well. Last week, in a freak of nature, incredible job offers came through in all. three. cities (like, jaw-dropping, super dreamy incredible offers, y’all).

I drove my friends batshit for a couple days trying to decide what to do, but finally decided:

I’m going for the biggest adventure.

Now is the time. I’m in my twenties, single, with nothing and no one in the world depending on me, except for one feline who’s along for this crazy ride.

So San Francisco it is, friends. I’m beyond excited about the job and the team I’ll be working with out there (the Community Engagement team at Adobe – you may have heard of them?) I actually already know and adore my manager Lauren from years of being Twitter buds and last year’s Bloggers in Sin City.

The interwebs truly are a magical thing, y’all.

So yes, I’m California bound. West side, and all that jazz. I’ll miss DC dearly, but I’ll visit often – I’ll always be an East Coaster (and Masshole) at heart, after all.

For those of you in the area, the obligatory Enormous Going Away Bash will be Friday the 13th (ha) on the roof of Jack Rose. As much as I’d love to get a last drink with everyone individually, it’s just not physically possible, so I hope to see you all there.

And with that…

 

PS: My basement apartment in the best house/neighborhood in town is available as of April 21st! (Details on Craigslist here.) It’s a huge one bedroom apartment at 3rd and U (gorgeous classic rowhouse, exposed brick/hardwood floors etc etc), about two blocks from Boundary Stone (aka DC’s best new bar). It’s an 8 minute walk from Shaw metro and 15 minute walk to the U Steet strip. $1050 a month, utilities split four ways with the three best roomies in the world who live upstairs (we share the kitchen and watch TV in the living room together). That said, there is a private bathroom, cable hookup and kitchen (no stove) downstairs in the apartment. I *may* have painted two of the walls turquoise, but you can decorate as you wish – though frankly, the turquoise looks pretty bad ass.

You’d cover my lease through May 31, then have the option to sign a new 6 month lease with the roomies (they’re all staying on). Let me know if you or someone you know is interested!

{ 63 comments }

1 Jenn April 2, 2012 at 10:24 am

That gif just made my life and now I want to watch that movie.

Can’t wait to hear all about your adventures and to come see you in SF!

2 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:00 am

Yes, yes! Please come visit ASAP! <3

3 doniree April 2, 2012 at 11:40 am

I WANT ALL THE WEST COAST SNUGGLES. Congrats, Rach!

4 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:41 am

#ALLTHESNUGGLES

Portland road trip is happening sooner rather than later, lady. Just sayin.

5 bethany April 2, 2012 at 10:31 am

Good luck to you! I flew from Seattle back to Houston with my cat, with a layover in Minnesota. It was an… adventure all on its own. I don’t know how you feel about medicating an animal to help them through something like that, but my vet recommended Benadryl. Also, please tell me that girl cat is going with you in the cabin and not in cargo.

I am so excited for you – and so happy that you are going to take such a huge step! San Francisco is in for a wonderful treat and I hope you fill us in here on (at least some of) your new adventures!

6 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:01 am

I’m definitely keeping her with me in the cabin, and banking on some Benedryl to knock her out too (she is LOUD, haha). Thanks so much, and I’ll definitely be blogging all the stories. :-)

7 Sam April 2, 2012 at 10:31 am

So exciting! Congrats on the big move! Also, very jealous that you’ll be working with Lauren. Clearly you two will be kicking ass and taking names :)

8 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:01 am

Thank you! And Lauren’s the best. We are gonna ROCK IT!!

9 Lauren April 2, 2012 at 11:23 pm

I can’t wait! :)

10 Alexis April 2, 2012 at 10:37 am

Unfreakingbelievably excited for you, lady. Have the most amazing adventure, can’t wait to see what happens next. :)

11 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:01 am

You and me both. <3

12 Matt Cheuvront April 2, 2012 at 10:41 am

Congrats, Rachel. San Fran is awesome. Lauren is awesome. You are awesome. All of this = awesome. Wishing you nothing but the best!

13 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:02 am

That is exactly how I feel about it all, haha. If you’re ever in town, LMK so we can grab a drink! Sadly, I won’t be making regular Nashville trips anymore, womp womp.

14 Matt Cheuvront April 2, 2012 at 11:07 am

San Fran is one of my favorite places – so I’ll be out there as often as I can. Lauren has been known to show me around town a bit, well, every time I’ve been to the Bay. She’s cool like that. Once Proof is ready to open a second office, San Fran will be my second home. :)

15 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:17 am

Hell to the yes! That’s what I like to hear. Can’t wait for your next visit – I should be all settled by then. :-)

16 Lauren April 2, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Yes, Matt! Come visit! We can go back to Bourbon & Branch! :)

17 Diana Antholis April 2, 2012 at 10:42 am

Congratulations!!!!!!!! Amazing.

18 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:02 am

Thanks lady friend!

19 Amy "Schmittastic" April 2, 2012 at 11:03 am

Girl. I’m so damn happy for you. You are going to rock sh*t out at Adobe! And also, I now have a place to stay in San Francisco ;) Kidding. Sort of.

Way to go, King. Kill it.

20 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:04 am

There’s no “kidding” about it, you are absolutely welcome to snuggle with me any time, haha. Thanks so much, love!

21 spleeness April 2, 2012 at 11:22 am

OMGOMGOMG!! I can’t believe you’re moving to San Fran, congratulations!!

22 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:34 am

Thanks lady!!

23 Lacey Bean April 2, 2012 at 11:34 am

Woo hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love San Fran – you’re going to kick so much ass in that city!!

24 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 11:46 am

You know it!! Thanks so much, love!

25 Stewart Pelto April 2, 2012 at 11:50 am

Congratulations again, Rachael! San Francisco is going to be the coolest new thing ever.

See you at your going-away party!

26 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Thanks Stewart! See ya then :-)

27 Narm April 2, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Congrats on the big move – and sorry in advance for spoiling what happens in all of your favorite shows on Twitter since you are in a different time zone.

28 rachaelgking April 2, 2012 at 12:08 pm

This is actually the #1 thing I’m not looking forward to. I WILL CUT YOU FROM AFAR. I’ll find a way.

<3

29 Hannah April 2, 2012 at 12:04 pm

SOOOOOO exciting!!! Congratulations a hundred times over! I was so scared to take the leap when I moved from DC up to Boston a few years ago, but I thought the exact same thing: I was 27, single, blissfully independent, and not responsible for anyone but myself and my seriously overweight and seriously awesome Maine Coon cat. Four years later, I still think it’s the best decision I ever made. So incredibly psyched for you, Rachel, and can’t wait to read all about your West Coast adventures!

30 Melissa April 2, 2012 at 12:16 pm

SO AWESOME! Congrats girl! Moving is a super scary thing or anyone, but like you said you’re twenty, you’re single, there’s just no better time to live life a little. Best of luck, can’t wait to see what life brings you in San Fran!

31 suki April 2, 2012 at 12:17 pm

see you in SF! :)

32 nova April 2, 2012 at 12:22 pm

What an amazing opportunity to start fresh! And in one of the coolest cities in the USA! Keep us updated.

33 Jenn April 2, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Many many congrats! Moving across the country for a job was the best adventure I could have asked for. Sending you lots of luck and good vibes!

34 KassyK April 2, 2012 at 12:46 pm

So so so so incredibly excited for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxo

35 Courtney Elizabeth April 2, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Congratulations! DC will miss you, but I’m looking forward to following your new adventure (with a tinge of envy)!

36 Rachel April 2, 2012 at 1:01 pm

How awesome!! Congrats and HUGE news! :)

37 cari April 2, 2012 at 1:02 pm

is it weird than I want to rent your apartment? also, if you don’t just love san fran, I will have to quit you.

38 Hope April 2, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Congrats! Have fun! :)

39 kelly April 2, 2012 at 3:46 pm

YAAAAAAAY SAN FRANCISCO!

40 KT April 2, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Wow congratulations!! That is so exciting! I moved out west after a breakup and it was the best thing I did because I met my husband only a few months after the move! :-)

41 Rachel April 2, 2012 at 4:07 pm

bahhhh I’ll miss you! but at least now i have someone to visit in san fran! Have an amazing time you will OWN that shit :)
xoxo

42 Aly April 2, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Seriously awesome. SF is a great city with some great bourbon joints. Have fun & congrats, lady!

43 Esmé Glass April 2, 2012 at 4:17 pm

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! You deserve it, lady!!

44 sherryrose April 2, 2012 at 5:34 pm

WELCOME TO THE WEST SIDE!

also: you’re the third person in a month that’s taken a job in san fran…is there something someone forgot to tell me?

congrats on being AH.MAY.ZING and getting job offers through the interwebz! some day we’ll all be able to say: we internet stalked her when…

45 katelin April 2, 2012 at 6:36 pm

hurrah to san fransisco! i mean. just so excited for you and your adventure, wee!

46 Twisted Susan April 2, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Congrats on being all balls to the walls with this.

47 Teacher Girl April 2, 2012 at 9:58 pm

This is amazing!! Congrats!!! I am so excited for you, and majorly jealous. Oh, and I’ll go ahead and be shameless and tell you that as a photographer and a teacher whose students make a magazine using InDesign, I am secretly hoping this new Adobe gig brings major perks that you just might share with your readers *wink, wink*

I kid, I kid ;)

Good luck with the move! Can’t wait to hear how it all goes!

48 Gretchen April 2, 2012 at 10:01 pm

!!!!

49 Mike April 3, 2012 at 8:35 am

That sounds awesome. Congratulations.

Try do make those annoying adobe update reminders less annoying would you?

But also, just remember, you’re living in the pacific rim of fire and along one of the biggest fault lines known to man.

So have a plan, know where your high ground is, and when the shaking starts, grab kitty and go there.

50 Heather Hopkins April 3, 2012 at 9:45 am

Congrats on the exciting news! Dropping life in DC and moving to Germany three years ago was the best thing I’ve ever done. You’ll love the adventure and never look back, I’m sure. I’ve loved reading your blog for some time now and look forward to all the new adventures.
Enjoy!

51 littlemsblogger April 3, 2012 at 11:54 am

Congrats! I LOVE SF……It is one of the few places when the plane lands I feel like I’ve flown home.

52 Sid April 3, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Congrats! I about 20 minutes from SF. Born and raised in the area and I can’t imagine being anywhere else. From what I’ve read on your blog, it will be a perfect match for you. Welcome and enjoy!

53 fizzgig April 3, 2012 at 8:37 pm

yahoo! best of luck! this is an amazing adventure…and good luck with the cat on a plane!!

54 Kellie April 3, 2012 at 10:36 pm

SO excited for you! San Fran is a wonderful city! You will have the time of your life! Also, can you send one of those turned down job offers my way? I’m still jobless. :)
Congrats!!!
xoxo

55 Lusty Reader April 3, 2012 at 10:48 pm

our loss in DC is san francisco’s gain. i’ll miss all your local tweets and stories but can’t wait to hear about your ongoing adventures!

56 Gina April 4, 2012 at 3:07 am

THIS IS THE BEST NEWS EVER! I live in Sacramento (about an hour and a half away from S.F.), so if you’re ever in the area, let me know and I’d love to show you around! :D

Welcome to the awesomeness that is California!

57 nicole antoinette April 4, 2012 at 4:40 pm

TO SUM UP MY FEELINGS ABOUT THIS:

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

58 Brown Girl April 5, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Very happy for you, what a fun adventure! Congratulations and I hope you enjoy SF!

59 kim April 6, 2012 at 11:26 am

So happy for you! I can’t wait for you to start this new adventure. You deserve a new adventure.

60 terra April 6, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Still so, so, so excited for you!! And now I have even more reasons to visit SF!!

61 Jaime April 8, 2012 at 12:58 pm

DUDE. I’m super stoked for you! Um, Adobe? You’re like a freaking rockstar! What an incredible adventure!

62 clevelandpoet April 11, 2012 at 11:44 am

random fact about jimi: because of “The Streets of San Francisco” reruns when I was young I wanted to move to San Francisco.

Oh and good luck with the move and all that junk.

63 michelle April 11, 2012 at 7:15 pm

have i said congrats yet? cause

CONGRATS!!!

that’s super awesome. i hope the move is smooth :) i’m planning to drop by for a few minutes friday. gotta at least say my good byes to the woman who inspired me to hang out with the dc bloggers :)

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: